06
Feb
07

Building Up Your Wife’s Self-Esteem


How to build up your wife is a topic that former hockey great, Paul Henderson, deals with in this recent article.

Here are some of my take aways from that:

  • Look for potential in your wife and cheer on its development.
  • Praise her for her strengths. Be specific with your compliments.
  • Be really careful with constructive criticism. Be sure it is the right time and place for her to receive that type of help.
  • Don’t criticize your wife in public, even jokingly; instead empower her with public affirmation.
  • Reinforce that you are your wife’s biggest fan and supporter and you’re not going anywhere.
3 Responses to “Building Up Your Wife’s Self-Esteem”


  1. 1 alain lamothe
    February 7, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Personally, I think the number 1 way to build your wife up is to sit down and just listen to her. My wife is smarter than me but needs to share information in order to process it. She does not want advice and solutions from me, she just needs me to listen.

  2. February 8, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Alain, I can relate. Too many times I think conversation in my wife’s invitation to “solve” the problem. It is not! It is an invitation for me to listen while she works on getting her thinking and feelings to come together.

  3. 3 Michael Huggins
    February 22, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I totally agree (I think Anita would too) undivided attention and good listening are one of the profitable things I can do in my relationship too. My wife feels valued. Important. Cherished. And as a result I always see a direct affect on her demeanor.

    The hard part is trying to stay engaged in a conversation that to me seems to go nowhere but in circles. To my wife however we are relating and I’m showing that I am really listening to her. Go figure guys!

    I have to bite my tonguewhen I try to “just fix the issue and move on to the next item”. Guys and girls are soooo different. (I mean that in a good way of course – I love you Honey – you’re the best)


Leave a Reply

Welcome

This blog is a place to wrestle with loving, leading and labouring according to the Jesus Way.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 51,634 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

